About Me

Background and Experience

I am a native speaker of both Spanish and English. Born to an American mother and a Bolivian father, I was raised in a bilingual household in La Paz, Bolivia, and I have been educated in both Bolivia and in the United States. Although I graduated high school and attended college for 3 years in Bolivia, I have had the opportunity to study English throughout those years. I studied English at the Centro Boliviano Americano (a language institute) in La Paz during my elementary years in addition to my school’s mandatory classes from 1st through 12th grade; I also had the chance to live and attend school in Texas from 1988 to 1990 and in Illinois for 6 months in 1996. In 2001, at age 21, I moved to the U.S. where I have been living, studying and working for over 10 years now. I have also had the chance to live in the UK from 2014 to 2015 while completing my masters degree.

Through work, school and life experience I have had the luck and opportunity to utilize my linguistic skills on a daily basis. I had the chance to continue using Spanish for 8 years while working with accounts all over Latin America and traveling to Medellín, Colombia to meet and train our partners on a couple of occasions.

In October of 2015, I completed my Master of Arts in Poverty and Development at the Institute of Development Studies, within the University of Sussex - ranked #1 in the world in Development Studies - in Brighton, UK . I graduated with Merit and focused my research on poverty reduction, social protection and nutrition. 

My undergraduate degree was obtained from the University of Cincinnati (UC). I graduated with a Bachelor of Business Administration with a degree in International Business and Marketing in June 2009. During my time at UC, I was able study abroad at the Tecnológico de Monterrey, Campus Querétaro in Mexico; and volunteer with Habitat for Humanity in San Juan La Laguna, Guatemala. Life has also allowed me spend some time in Puerto Rico and Honduras. Of course, I have returned to Bolivia, on vacation, many times throughout the years.

Although I started freelance translating in 2011 after moving to Denver, Colorado, I have translated documents for every company/organization I have worked for since moving to the U.S. This gives me over 10 years of translating, proofreading and editing documents like brochures, fliers, operation manuals, websites, product specifications sheets, package labels and content, service agreements, reports, letters and communication, safety warnings, human resource documents, etc.

Education

**= Hover to view degrees or diplomas

Professional Qualifications / Certifications

**= Hover to view certificates

Professional Association Memberships

Professional Development

**= Hover to view certificates

Operating Systems

  • Mac
  • Windows

Software

  • SDL Trados 2011
  • Microsoft Office including: Word, Excel, PowerPoint
  • Mac software: Pages, iMovie
login